Legislative Sentry: HB1677 - Have Miscarriage, Go to Jail?



  1. HB1677, "Report of Fetal Death by mother, penalty"

    It sounds preposterous to talk about criminalizing women who suffer miscarriages, but one Virginia legislator is proposing just that. HB1677, "Report of Fetal Death by mother, penalty" is a bill introduced by John A. Cosgrove (R) of Chesapeake. Cosgrove's bill requires any woman who experiences "fetal death" without a doctor's assistance to report this to the local law-enforcement agency within twelve hours of the miscarriage. Failure to do so is punishable as a Class 1 Misdemeanor.

    Background: Reporting of Fetal Deaths

    Almost all states mandate reporting of fetal deaths to vital statistics bureaus. These statistics are then collected nationally by the CDC. In most states, health care providers must provide statistics on fetal deaths after 20 weeks gestation (or at a certain fetal weight approximating 20 weeks gestation). Virginia is one of only 7 states, however, that mandate the reporting of deaths of all "products of conception" regardless of gestational age. This includes both spontaneous losses of pregnancy and induced terminations of pregnancy, though the required data fields are different for abortions.
    http://democracyforvirginia.typepad....ative_sen.html
    •  
  2. 16 Comments

  3. by   nurseunderwater
    I saw this on another board yesterday :angryfire
    I wish I could use the language on here that comes to mind.

    All I can say is chalk one more up to the misoginistic white male culture of power. If this crap keeps up in our country I'll be joining you Down Under.

    Kate
  4. by   gwenith
    I am still trying to work out how they would apply this in the case of the "vanishing twin syndrome"??? How are they going to apply it in cases of early midbarriage within 1 -2 weeks of conception.
  5. by   BeachNurse
    Quote from gwenith
    I am still trying to work out how they would apply this in the case of the "vanishing twin syndrome"??? How are they going to apply it in cases of early midbarriage within 1 -2 weeks of conception.
    It seems that this would be something to occur with the knowledge of a physician, otherwise how would anyone know the woman was pregnant with twins in the first place? The article states that it applies when the fetus is older than 20 weeks.

    Strange article...
  6. by   fab4fan
    It says that in VA notification is required regardless of fetal age.

    Anyone who could apologize for something like this is, well...can't violate TOS here.
  7. by   SmilingBluEyes
    Virginia, isn't that where That nut, Jerry Falwell, lives and spews his hatred-filled speeches? I am frankly shocked at this....why? I don't know. When you have men like Falwell in power, it just stands to reason anti-female legislation like this would exist. As a person who has experienced multiple "fetal losses" this OUTRAGES me. Surely such laws, if passed, would add to the horrible pain I ALREADY have had, having lost pregnancies! :angryfire
    Last edit by SmilingBluEyes on Jan 9, '05
  8. by   caroladybelle
    Quote from SmilingBluEyes
    Virginia, isn't that where That nut, Jerry Falwell, lives and spews his hatred-filled speeches? I am frankly shocked at this....why? I don't know. When you have men like Falwell in power, it just stands to reason anti-female legislation like this would exist. As a person who has experienced multiple "fetal losses" this OUTRAGES me. Surely such laws, if passed, would add to the horrible pain I ALREADY have had, having lost pregnancies! :angryfire
    I don't know about Falwell....but Pat Robertson has his studios for CBN there.
  9. by   SharonH, RN
    Quote from SmilingBluEyes
    Virginia, isn't that where That nut, Jerry Falwell, lives and spews his hatred-filled speeches? I am frankly shocked at this....why? I don't know. When you have men like Falwell in power, it just stands to reason anti-female legislation like this would exist. As a person who has experienced multiple "fetal losses" this OUTRAGES me. Surely such laws, if passed, would add to the horrible pain I ALREADY have had, having lost pregnancies! :angryfire


    Isn't that the truth? I had a miscarriage...at home...alone... and the last thing I was thinking about was calling the police and reporting myself. Where does the crap end?
  10. by   fergus51
    I can't even imagine WHY they would want women to report this in the first place? It's no one's business but hers and her partner's.
  11. by   talaxandra
    There's no way the bill could be passed (right? please reasusre me ont his) but just the idea of it is... ridiculous, insulting, uninformed... I'm going to go with moronic
  12. by   Roy Fokker
    1. How is anybody to know someone had a miscarriage and didn't report it in?
    2. What useful purpose would this serve anyway?
  13. by   SmilingBluEyes
    those questions are obvious, roy, which makes legislation like this even seem MORE ludicrous. anyone proposing this is useless as well imo.
  14. by   Thunderwolf
    Yikes!! Is nothing sacred?

close